A Crummy Job Description.

In… Out….

I’m practicing breathing deeply and counting to 10 before this netbook finds its way through a window.  I’m a fairly tech savvy person, but it’s taken me WAY too long to figure out how to tweak a few minuscule things here and there on the blog site.  Also, it’s not letting me do what I want.  Something about cookies.

Yes, I will enable cookies anytime.

Well, it’s still not pretty, but I will figure it out eventually.  In the meantime, I wanted to share an article that I ran across as I was searching for other blogs about being a PW.  This article kind of sums up why I’m pretty crummy at it – if we’re really measured this way.  We are so blessed that our church family does not have these expectations!

http://moneyland.time.com/2007/03/29/think_your_job_is_tough_try_be/

In fact, I see my role as a PW many times intentionally not fulfilling this description.  Here’s a few examples:

Angelic Children/Family – HA!  Okay, besides the complete impossibility of this actually ever happening in my world, there’s more to it.  The pressure to be perfect is not healthy – for my kids, for myself, or for others around us.  Under this intense scrutiny, my kids will not learn what grace is, will have very low self-esteem, and would probably ultimately turn away from God because they just can’t be perfect.  And what kind of example are we setting for others?  A hypocritical example, that’s what.  An example that is not authentic, that teaches that we have to hide who we really are and cater to appearances.

Volunteer Extraordinairre – I want our church to succeed.  And by succeed I mean be a church that reaches out to share the gospel with others, serves our community, and teaches God’s Word.  We have a number of great ministries that accomplish these goals.  But as the PW, I can’t be expected to do it all.  I can’t do it all.  And more importantly, if one person (PW or not) has their finger in the pie of all the ministries at a church, where is the room for other people to serve?  How can others be challenged to grow spiritually and in their maturity, moving towards “solid food” (Heb 5:12-14), if they aren’t given an opportunity?

So instead of trying to have a perfect family, I try to make sure people see that we have a normal family.  A family that has flaws.  That the kids and parents get frustrated with each other sometimes.  That our house gets messy (and we don’t always clean it before people come over).  That we try our best, but sometimes miss the mark.  And instead of volunteering for everything, I try to encourage others to volunteer where their strengths and talents lie.  And make sure they know they are needed and appreciated.

Again, we are so blessed to have a church family that doesn’t put these unrealistic expectations on us – that loves us for who we are, and that comes alongside us as we all press on toward the goal.

Time for some tea Nutella hot chocolate with the hubby. Goodnight, friends.

2 thoughts on “A Crummy Job Description.

Leave a Reply

